Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

Okay.  Denise and Karen over at BlogHer are chatting about a Read-A-Thon.  Dewey’s Read-A-Thon to be exact.  And it starts TOMORROW!  Yes.

Saturday October 13, 2012.

I have a million things I should do this weekend.  But the thought of vegging out with books for 24 hours sounds like my kind of fun.  I have literally piles of books on my nightstand, under my bed and in my office (not to mention my e-reader) that I’ve wanted to read, so I thought what the heck.  I’ll do it.

It’s not too late to join the reading party. You can learn about it here, here and here.

I’ll be posting periodic updates to this post on Saturday letting you know what I’m reading and how things are going throughout the 24 hours. So check back.  Now I’m off to cull my reading selection.

#

Update:  Good Morning - Getting ready to start the Read-A-Thon.  I plan to update as I complete a book.

Hour: 0

Pages: 0

Food:  Chocolate coffee

Exercise: waking up?

1st Reading:  The Four Agreements: A Toltec Wisdom Book by Don Miguel Ruiz (138 pgs.)

~

Update:  If I read nothing else during this marathon I will call it a good day because I finally read ‘The Four Agreements’.  I got off to a slower start than anticipated, but I did not want to rush through this.  Wow.  ‘The Four Agreements’ will have a permanent place on my nightstand for frequent rereading.  I’m planning to incorporate some exercises while reading to hopefully keep me energized and awake for the entire 24 hours.

Hour: 3.5

Pages: 138

Food:  Pancakes.  Dark chocolate covered Pomegranate balls.

Exercise: Walking lunges.  Standing side leg lifts.  Side stretches.

Next Reading:  Oogy: the dog only a family could love by Larry Levin (214 pgs.)

~

Update:  Okay.  Lured out by a great day.  Took a break for a couple of hours to eat lunch at my favorite Indian restaurant and play with dogs.  ‘Oogy’ is a wonderful, uplifting read.  Box of tissues not necessary.

Hour: 9.5

Total Pages: 352

Food:  Indian buffet, Dark chocolate covered Pomegranate.

Exercise: Walk, stretches, chase dogs

Next Reading:  Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella (435 pgs.)

~

Update:  Hmm – vegging out on books is harder than I thought/remembered.  Maybe it is just aging joints but inertia hurts after a while.  Mostly nodded off between 2-4 am.  Slept from 4- 6 am.  Finished ‘Twenties Girl’ just under the wire.   Though maybe a little long (435 pgs.) for a read-a-thon, ‘Twenties Girl’ was a delightfully entertaining read even for a late-nighter.

Hour: 24

Total Pages: 787

Food:  Soup, Almonds, Dark chocolate covered Pomegranate, gum.

Exercise: walking lunges, stretches, play with dogs.

~

Final thoughts:  Overall decent for last minute, first time participation.  I plan to do the next Dewey’s 24 hour Read-A-Thon in April.  My strategy will probably be the same – shoot for 1,000 pages, but read books I’m really interested in reading and take the time to enjoy them – while not getting too carried away with the whole vegging out thing.  Maybe manage to work in a challenge or two next time.

9 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

  1. Well darn, it’s my wedding anniversary weekend and I’m going out of town. Tell Denise and Karen hello for me and I’m really angst that I won’t be participating :-)

    • Happy Anniversary! Have a great weekend. Say hi to hubby. The read-a-thon happens twice a year April and Oct. Maybe you can swing some time for the April one.

  2. Pingback: I Almost Missed The Dewey 24 Hour Read-a-Thon | Reading and Writing Cafe

Leave a Reply

